top of page

Next to Silence (2008)

Grade 5

duration: 7'30"

solos: trombone 2, piano

doubles: 1. soprano, 2. --, 3.--, 4. clarinet, 5. bass clarinet

"Next to Silence" is a tribute to Pat Metheny and Lyle Mays. This mixed-metered tune uses a number of the compositional techniques, sounds, and feels they've employed throughout their 30-year collaboration. Written in a straight-8th ECM style, the title comes from the ECM motto: "the Most Beautiful Sound Next to Silence." This piece is contains an optional, yet recommended, vocal part.

Click to buy : $70 (published by Sierra Music)

Click to view score

Next to Silence - Omar Thomas Large Ensemble
00:00 / 00:00
bottom of page